top of page

You Are - leadsheet

In creating this leadsheet I wanted to give enough information to easily put together the piece without giving too much away to allow students to really put their ears to work. Originally I was not even going to put in the cello voicings, just chord names, but I found that the voicing was important and could open up a conversation about writing chords for strings, and choosing bass notes.


On the whole, dictating it was fairly simple. I'm glad I took the time to do this and wade through all the syncopation because I found that it played a bit of a structural element too, with the verse being marked on the beat and the chorus essentially being strung into a long, fluid stream. I ended up actually incorporating that information into Week 6's work on rhythm.

Another thing that caught me by surprise was having to actually research "Parts of a Pop Song" when labelling the sections of the song. It turns out there's such thing as a post-chorus! It's used to keep the chorus interesting and often isn't introduced until the second chorus, according to this article.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page