top of page
  • karencortez7797

Making dictations

I was lucky enough to be sent the AMC Compassion Education resource, and it's been a real godsend for doing these dictations. Even though it doesn't contain the score, it does contain a detailed listening guide for each movement, including bar numbers and time stamps matching the times on the recordings. So, I'm able to deduce what bar numbers I'm dictating so my information for the future user of these dictations is complete!


It's been most interesting figuring out where to put prompts and how much to "give away". I feel as if sometimes I am babying the students by giving them so many aids but I should also probably remember how much experience I've had doing dictations and transcribing things in the years since my HSC. I think I've picked fairly pattern-y ones though, so I imagine they'd be ok. I did throw in a curveball one - a wind countermelody that floats over the top of the vocal line. I think it would be a challenge and would require lots of listenings but remembering that lecture we where we discussed listening for more than just the melody line prompted me to include it. The bass is far too low/out of the way/"atmospheric" in Compassion to be dictatable.


In one instance where I was able to see the score, I found that the recording sounded slightly more like a different note than the one written. I decided to include my version as well as the official score version in case there was a student that got the written correct answer.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Aleatorics on Sibelius

I decided to make a video on how to input aleatorics, since it's super fiddly and if anyone were to want to use it in their composition they would have to learn how to do it. It was great to see that

bottom of page