top of page
  • karencortez7797

Luminosa cell collection

I had originally planned to just provide a random selection of cells from Luminosa for use in composition activities, with the idea that removing the cells from their context would remove the worry that only cells from a particular section could be used at the same time. I used screenshots of the score, leaving dynamics and techniques intact as little "puzzles" for the students to figure out as they performed it. I finished that about a week ago.


When I completed my class arrangement of the entire piece the other day, I ended up deciding that making students transpose (not an HSC-assessed skill) and read alto clef (if you can read other clefs, you'll be fine for score analysis since it won't turn up in sight-singing) was a waste of class time and wrote out those parts again. When looking back on my wild collection of random cells, it seemed a very weak tool in comparison. So I decided to make a mixed bag "arrangement", which just had all the aleatoric cells of Luminosa, grouped into sections. Unlike a normal mixed bag, I left out TAB notation, as Music 2 guitarists should really be practicing their staff notation reading.


Luminosa's instrumentation are all very agile: strings, flute, piano, vibraphone. I realised this once I transposed the cells into parts for brass instruments and realised how jumpy the parts were. I deleted the truly impossible ones from those parts, but I kept a few in. Since it's being used as compositional stimulus, and not actually playing everything on the page, I figured that the students would be able to make their own decisions about which cells to play. While I left the mismatched instrumental techniques in as originally planned, I decided to remove the dynamics as it made no sense to lock the cells into a particular dynamic range when it was going to be lifted out of its original context anyway.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Aleatorics on Sibelius

I decided to make a video on how to input aleatorics, since it's super fiddly and if anyone were to want to use it in their composition they would have to learn how to do it. It was great to see that

bottom of page