top of page
  • karencortez7797

Editing time!

Today was sit-down-and-edit day, and after almost 2 weeks away from my recordings, I had a bit of work to do! Below are the notes I took as I worked:


Ah poor bird:

  • Recordings were a bit laggy compared to the metronome? I wonder if it's because “oohs” take a bit more time to annunciate. Meant a lot of small editing to keep everything in line.

  • Originally had two sets of recordings to create a “choir sound” but that became very unwieldy with all of them being laggy so I cut it down to one per part. In the "repeat after me" bits I still have two response voices though.

  • Decided to have the primary voice set to 0 gain, everyone else down to -2.0dB just to make it not have a wash of sound - slight panning for 4 parts with the first entry by the driver (R +12 pan)

  • I did record a MIDI piano drone for when I was recording but I ended up taking out as I figured I needed as little barriers as possible - I can imagine someone thinking they need the accompaniment to sing the song with their kids, etc.

  • OH NO I SOUND SUPER SICK :( Can’t do anything about that for consistency.

Ghost of John

  • Final entry is just me x 2 humming so I kept the dB change to 0 instead of lowering it

  • Chose “goooone” instead of ‘go o o one” during the spoken lyric-learning section because the second version might encourage unnecessary glottal stops when they add the melody

  • Chose “sung oooooh” over a monotonous "oooh" because it conveyed the length of the ooh whilst showing the change of the rhythm

Bow Belinda:

  • SERIOUS intonation issues in the recording made the doubling to make the response crowd impossible with the only two recordings I had

  • Used half-strength autotune to mask it a little bit.

  • Cait helped me fix it by using Logic on her end and sending it back. :D

Bow Belinda and Sandy land

  • With the lyrics being the same 3/4 phrases it seemed silly to break down the lyrics into 4 phrases as well as the melody into 4. I think I will combine it into 2 phrases when the melody is introduced otherwise we will have many bored people.

  • Potentially because they were faster, these tunes ended up needing a lot of fades at the end of every phrase because the breathing was so noisy!

Automation makes fun lines :)

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflecting on Traffic Tunes

The end of a journey! What a time. The making of Traffic Tunes was not a tech-nical learning curve, but challenged me more in terms of presenting content and repertoire. In the end I wasn't able to ch

It's recording day!

Today was the day I did all my recordings! Because of the way the booking system works I had 3 hours to pump out all my recordings, save them on GarageBand projects and then do all the fun snipping/ed

bottom of page